UTC Wrestling team takes All-Academic honors

by jruez on May 23, 2011

The National Wrestling Coaches Association has released its annual list of Division I All-Academic Top 30 Teams and the UTC wrestling team has been honored as the #7 Division I academic wrestling program in the nation. Four of its wrestlers also took home one of the ninety-three Individual All-Academic Team honors. They are Demetrius Johnson, Jason McCroskey, Dean Pavlou, and Brandon Wright.

The NWCA states the criteria for consideration on the All-Academic Team as follows:

“For teams to be eligible for consideration, the team GPA is comprised of 12 student athletes, including the 10 wrestlers that were the entries in the NCAA tournament conference qualifier. If teams had less than 10 entries for their respective qualifier, they may fill those spots with wrestlers that competed in at least one varsity dual during the season.”

McCroskey was also recently honored as a member of the 2011 Capital One Academic All-District IV At-Large Team.

Congratulations to the UTC team and its wrestlers for this amazing accomplishment!

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Previous post:

Next post: